518 Area Code | 518

where is area code 518 located ?

area code 518

Area codes 518 and 838 are telephone area codes in eastern upstate New York. 518 was established as one of the original area codes in 1947. 838 was added as an overlay in 2017. It covers 24 counties and 1,200 ZIP codes. It has 493 landline and 100 wireless exchanges serviced by 47 carriers. It is the largest area code in size in New York, extending from the eastern Mohawk Valley to the Vermont border, and from the Canada–US border to south of Albany. The bulk of the area code's population is in the Capital District (Albany, Schenectady, and Troy). Other major cities in the area code are Glens Falls, Plattsburgh and Saratoga Springs.


518 is the only one of New York's original five Numbering Plan Areas that still has its original boundaries. Despite the presence of the Capital District and the proliferation of cell phones and pagers (particularly in the Capital District and Glens Falls), it was one of the few remaining original area codes (not counting those serving an entire state) that had never been split or overlaid. By the spring of 2016, however, 518 was on the verge of exhaustion, and it was projected that the region would need another area code by at least 2019. By the fall, however, it was anticipated that 518 would exhaust in the third quarter of 2017. An overlay area code, 838, was quickly approved, to be implemented in the fall of 2017.

From March 18 to August 19, 2017, calls could be made using 7 digits or 10 digits (area code + 7 digit number). 10-digit dialing became mandatory on August 20, 2017. On September 19, 2017, area code 838 was officially added as an overlay to area code 518.

Areas served by this area code

By county

By community

518 Area Code